Tags

, , , ,

I am amazed by the power of music.

It’s a beautiful, sultry… okay hot as hell
night in Toronto at the Rogers Centre. Finally the long wait for the
rescheduled 2010 U2 concert has arrived.  As I make my way to my seat I’m checking out the crowd. Every age, every race is here. When I sit down in my own row, I giggle as I look at the seven people I came with. They range from 17 to 68!

There exists some music that can bring all ages and races together. During the concert, I watched people. They were dancing,laughing, hips gyrating, hands waving in the air. I saw happiness.
The concert itself? Fantastic. That is U2. It’s a show that is large enough to
bring Mark Kelly at the International Space Station by video to introduce
Beautiful Day. Amazing I say.

I always hear criticisms about Bono’s political leanings and his “pulpit” ways. In fact
the most criticisms I heard were from his previous concerts in Montreal. I was
prepared, but in all honesty I was pleased.

Some would say that a concert is not the forum to be political. Perhaps, but it depends I think.  Bono showed images of Burmese politician Aung San Suu Kyi and told the crowd about the years she spent in prison just becauseshe believed in democracy. There was even a video message from her. I knew all about her, upon her release in the fall her picture and story were constantly in the newspaper. I followed the stories, I was intrigued. But how many other people in the 60 000 plus crowd did not know of her and her struggles? A brief moment to educate or inform us? I’m okay with that. No I’m damn good with that!

He mentioned his own campaign ONE, which focuses on the international fight against extreme poverty.  I had never heard of it. When I arrived home armed with a cup of tea I checked out the web page for ONE. Yes at 2:30 in the morning. It’s good stuff, he’s doing good things.

He got me thinking, keep talking Bono, keep singing. I’m listening.

